Student Services

Student Services News

Modified schedule for PSAT October 16, 2019.
Research is clear that showing up for school has a huge impact on a student’s academic and social success starting from kindergarten and continuing through high school. Absences can be a sign that a student is losing interest in school, struggling with school or even facing social challenges.
Students must sign up for these visits through Naviance.
PSAT on October 16, 2019.
Attendance is important for school success. Starting in school year 2018-2019, MSDE lowered the chronic absenteeism rate from 20% to 10% which means that at 10% a student should be receiving support and interventions to support to improve their absenteeism.
Is your student sitting in a course with a “CC” designation this school year?
Students must sign up for these visits through Naviance.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is looking for River Hill to nominate 2 juniors interested in applying for the Morehead-Cain Scholarship.

Student Services

Michael Krouse | School Counselor, Instructional Team Leader | Michael_Krouse@hcpss.org
Jill Babe | School Counselor | jill_babe@hcpss.org
Danny Ives | School Counselor | Danny_Ives@hcpss.org
Marianne Pizzo | School Counselor | Marianne_Pizzo@hcpss.org
Philip Vangeli | School Counselor | Philip_Vangeli@hcpss.org
Mark Cooper | School Psychologist | mark_cooper@hcpss.org
Catherine Corrao | Registrar | Catherine_Corrao@hcpss.org
Sydney Michener | Black Student Achievement Program (BSAP) Achievement Liaison | sydney_michener@hcpss.org
Debra Leone | Data Clerk | Debra_Leone@hcpss.org
Dana St George | School Counseling Secretary | dana_stgeorge@hcpss.org
Lauren Stoesser | Pupil Personnel Worker | lauren_stoesser@hcpss.org

Essential Resources

Accident and Medical Insurance

Accident Insurance

The school system does not carry medical insurance for accidents that occur at school, including non-sport related injuries, such as trips and falls, physical education injuries, and recess/playground injuries. Thus, parents are encouraged to enroll students in the accident insurance program offered through HCPSS.

Learn more about how to obtain accident insurance →

Medical Insurance

The Maryland Children’s Health Insurance Program (MCHIP) is available for families, pregnant women, and children in need of medical insurance. Applications are available through the school health assistant or by contacting the Howard County Health Department at 410-313-7500.

Find out more about qualifying for MCHIP →